What is K-factor | How to calculate K-factor | Adjust (2024)

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What is K-factor | How to calculate K-factor | Adjust (1)

Mobile marketing

K-factor is a metric used by app developers to indicate an app’s virality. K-factor measures how many additional users each existing user brings to the app. Adapted from medical terminology used to assess how fast a virus spreads, K-factor in the mobile app economy represents how many of your new users will invite others to try your app.

What is K-factor?

K-factor is an assessment of an app's viral potential or word-of-mouth potential. If one user tells a second and third user about your app, you’re obtaining a new user without any additional cost. In principle, K-factor is used to link organic installs to user acquisition (UA). However, many variables can impact traffic, such as campaign, countries, timing, etc., and lead to a lower or higher K-factor in your UA campaign.

Why is K-factor important?

K-factor is just one of many metrics that inform app marketers’ campaign spending. By understanding how paid traffic and installs impact organic installs, you can have a fuller picture of how your campaigns are performing. If you can prove your marketing is impacting organic installs as well as paid, you can better justify your campaign budgets and spend them more wisely.

How is K-factor calculated?

Below we’ve written the most widely used formula to calculate K-factor:

K = i * c

i= The number of app invites sent per customer

c= The average conversion rate of each invite

Let’s look at an example. Let’s say you have a fitness app in which you decide to reward loyal users who invite their family and friends to the app. So, you offer your loyal users 20% off their next monthly subscription when one of their friends downloads the app from the loyal user’s referral link.

Let’s say each of your users invites two friends. In this case, i = 2.

If one in four invitees convert to a new user, then, c = .25

Now, it’s time to multiply. K= 2 *.25 = ???

Question: What is the value of K-factor here?

The K-factor value would be 50%. (K = 2* .25 = .50)

If your fitness app started with a modest 200 active users with this K-factor, the next month should yield 300 active users.

What is a good K-factor?

A good K-factor is one that is higher than one, even fractionally. This indicates viral growth and that your K-factor surpasses your churn rate. A K-factor of one indicates stability as your app isn’t growing or declining. Conversely, a K-factor below one reveals that your app’s virality is in exponential decline.

In other words, your K-factor is good so long as it surpasses your app’s churn rate.

How to improve K-factor

It’s crucial to identify the influential aspects of your K-factor and optimize them as often as possible. Doing so will boost the number of installs from organic that come from the force of paid. ASO, optimization, and creating sharable apps are three key ways to lift your K-factor. Let’s cover how they each can serve to improve your app’s K-factor.

ASO

Effective App Store Optimization (ASO) is vital for app developers desiring more organic downloads. One of the largest ranking factors of ASO is download volume. Therefore, a large install base will help to boost rankings, regardless of whether users are paid or organic. When app stores see consistent traffic and an ever-increasing number of active users, rank increases. This creates a healthy circle of organic influencing paid, leading to a bigger K-factor.

Experiment, optimize, repeat

As you explore various channels, utilize different ad creatives, and try to find the source of the most valuable users, it’s imperative to be able to measure and analyze all your marketing campaigns. Only with accurate measurement and proper analytics can you know how to best optimize your campaigns to maximize your ROI. With a mobile analytics platform like Adjust, you can better understand your app’s K-factor as you effectively analyze and optimize all your campaigns in one place.

Sharable apps

The K-factor of an app benefits immensely if the app is made for sharing. Whether it be a multiplayer game, or a travel app that allows users to split the cost, encouraging your users to share the app with friends can turn one paid install into three or four more organic users. Of course, this is something to be determined at the beginning of an app’s development.

If your app isn’t built specifically for interaction with others, you can still consider incorporating a feature that makes your app more interactive. If we go back to our fitness app example, you could develop a chat/competition function where your users can challenge each other to a fitness challenge as well as invite potential users to join as well.

To discover more ways to grow your app, explore “Scaling your app to 1 million users: The ultimate guide.” At Adjust, we’re all about helping you connect the metrics of your campaigns to your ROI. If you’d like to request a demo of our mobile analytics platform, click here.

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What is K-factor | How to calculate K-factor | Adjust (2024)

FAQs

What is K-factor | How to calculate K-factor | Adjust? ›

K factor is a ratio between the distance from the neutral bend line to the inside bend radius

bend radius
The minimum bend radius is the radius below which an object such as a cable should not be bent.
https://en.wikipedia.org › wiki › Bend_radius
and the material thickness. K factor uses the formula K factor = δ/T. Y factor uses the formula Y factor = K factor * (Π/2). The default value for Y factor is 0.50.

How do you calculate the K-factor? ›

We calculate k-factor by dividing t by the material thickness (Mt): k-factor = t/Mt, The k-factor is nothing more than a multiplier that can give you an accurate value for the relocated neutral axis. And if you know the bend allowance, you can extract the k-factor from it.

How do you calculate the K-factor in statistics? ›

Example
  1. If each user invites an average of 5 friends, your app's I-Factor is 5.
  2. If each invite successfully converts 1 out of 8 people on average, the conversion rate is 12.5%. Therefore, your app's C-Factor equals 0.125.
  3. The K-Factor formula is equal to I × C. In this instance, it is 5 × 0.125 = 0.625.
Mar 30, 2023

What is the formula for K-factor referral? ›

Let's say each user invites one friend on average (i = 1), and every third invitee has successfully registered (c = ⅓). In this case, the K-factor = 1 * ⅓ = 33.3%. Assuming all goes well, this would mean that if our dating app initially had 100 active users, that number would soon grow to 133, and then 178, and so on.

How is K-value calculated? ›

To calculate a k-value, divide the mole fraction in the vapor by the mole fraction in the liquid.

How do you calculate K? ›

To determine K for a reaction that is the sum of two or more reactions, add the reactions but multiply the equilibrium constants.

What are k factors? ›

Mathematics and statistics. K-factor (actuarial), the ratio of the value of deferrable expenses to the value of estimated gross profits. k-factor (graph theory), a spanning k-regular subgraph in graph theory.

What is K value factor? ›

Thermal conductivity, often referred to as K-value, is the rate of steady heat flow through a unit area of a hom*ogeneous material induced by a unit temperature gradient in a direction perpendicular to that unit area.

How do you find K in statistics? ›

Consider choosing a systematic sample of 20 members from a population list numbered from 1 to 836. To find k, divide 836 by 20 to get 41.8. Rounding gives k = 42.

How do you choose K-factor? ›

To calculate the K-factor:
  1. Multiply the bending allowance by 180.
  2. Divide the resultant by pi and the bend angle.
  3. Subtract the inner radius from the resulting numeral.
  4. Divide the result by the material thickness to obtain the K-factor.
Jun 3, 2024

What is K-factor in measurement? ›

It is a constant value used to convert the physical flow rate of a media into an electrical or mechanical signal that can be measured and monitored. The K factor represents the relationship between the flow rate passing through the flow meter and the output signal generated by the meter.

How to calculate K-factor viral? ›

K-factor = Invites x Conversion Rate

Assuming each user sends one invitation on average, and one-third of the recipients successfully register, the k-factor is 33.3%. This means that if there are 100 active users, there would be 133 in the next period, and 178 in the following period, and so on.

What is K-factor rate? ›

For aircraft fuel flow meters, K-factor refers to the number of pulses expected for every one volumetric unit of fluid passing through a given flow meter, and is usually encountered when dealing with pulse signals.

How is K-Factor determined? ›

K factor is a ratio between the distance from the neutral bend line to the inside bend radius and the material thickness. K factor uses the formula K factor = δ/T.

How to solve for K? ›

To solve for the rate constant you would rearrange the rate law to solve for k -> k= initial rate/([A]^a[B]^B[C]^c) The values A B and C are given to you but you do have to solve for a, b and c, which represent the order of the individual reactions. Once you have a ,b, and c just plug everything in and solve for k.

How is K score calculated? ›

The most common way is to take the number of new users an existing user brings in, divided by the number of total users. Another way to calculate K-Factor is to take the number of new users in a given time period, divided by the number of users at the beginning of that period.

What is the formula for scale factor K? ›

How do you Find the Scale Factor? The scale factor can be calculated when the new dimensions and the original dimensions are given. The basic formula to find the scale factor of a figure is: Scale factor = Dimension of the new shape ÷ Dimension of the original shape.

How do you calculate capacity factor K? ›

k = tR-tm tm Thus, the higher the capacity factor, the longer the retention time. A measure of a column performance that accounts for the effects of unretained elution time, where tR' is the adjusted retention time and m is the standard deviation of the peak.

How do you calculate coverage factor K? ›

In general, the value of the coverage factor k is chosen on the basis of the desired level of confidence to be associated with the interval defined by U = kuc. Typically, k is in the range 2 to 3.

References

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